GFB News Magazine

GFB Young Farmers & Ranchers Discussion Meet past winners

Posted on April 7, 2022 12:00 AM



GFB Contest YR       State winner                          Membership County                          AFBF contest/ results

1976 1st year                Barry Cronic                                 Jackson County                     

of GFB contest

1977                            Thomas Kessler                             Effingham County                

1978                            Barry Cronic                                  Jackson Co                                            1979 AFBF Final 4

1979                            Steve Wilson                                  Henry Co                                              1980 AFBF winner*

1st year a state Farm Bureau won both AFBF YFR awards               Ken & Mona Howard won AFBF Outstanding YFR award                                                                

1980                            Jack Chandler                               Walton County                              

1981                            Terry Chandler                               Madison County                           

1982                            Gary Paulk                                      Irwin County                         

1983                            Joey Veal                                        Irwin County                           

1984                            Steve Evans                                   Ben Hill County                    

1985                            Phil Ham                                         Monroe County                      

1986                            David Stalvey                                 Lanier County                                     1987 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

1987                            Jim Reid                                          Sumter County                        

1988                            Randall Morris                               Montgomery County                         1989 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

1989                            Dwayne Warren                            Brooks County                        

1990                            Bruce Lovin                                   Greene County                      

1991                            Terry England                                 Barrow County                       

1992                            Chris McCorkle                              McDuffie County                   

1993                            Chip Brooks                                    Habersham County                

1994                            Kelly Cagle*                                    Cherokee County                    

 *1st GFB female winner

1995                            Angie Young                                    Bleckley County                  

1996                            Sharon Lucas                                  Bleckley County                                1997 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

1997                            Jimmy Scott                                    Coffee County                        

1998                            Mark Glass                                       Mitchell County                               1999 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

1999                            David Cagle                                     Cherokee County                   

2000                            Greg Ison                                        Spalding County                              2001 AFBF Final 4 Finalist 

2001                            Pam Williams                                  Appling County                                2002 AFBF Final Four Finalist

2002                            Marshall Bennett, Jr.                      Cook County                                    2003 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2003                            Trey Hart                                         Colquitt County                      

2004                            Joel McKie                                      Wilcox County                                 2005 AFBF Final Four Finalist

2005                            Chris Paulk                                       Berrien County                               2006 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2006                            Elton Baldy                                      Colquitt County                              2007 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2007                            Chad Carlton                                   Polk County                                    2008 AFBF Final Four Finalist

2008                            Josh White                                      Henry County                                2009 AFBF Sweet 16/ 3rd round of contest

2009                            Nancie Sanders                               Greene County                       

2010                            Jonathan Fordham                          Bleckley County                     

2011                            Sara Ervin                                          Jackson County                                   

2012                            Matt Bottoms                                   Pike County                                    2013 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2013                            Trisha Lastly                                      Madison County                     

2014                            Brittany Ivey                                     Stephens County                            2015 AFBF Sweet 16/  3rd round of contest

2015                            Kyle Dekle                                         Habersham County                        2016 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2016                            Skye Gess                                         Hancock County                              2017 AFBF Final 4 Finalist

2017                            Will Godowns                                   Pike County                                     2018 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2018                            Becca Creasy                                    Bulloch County                               2019 AFBF Final 4 Finalist

2019                            Kaitlyn Marchant                              Morgan County                              2020 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2020                           Ashley Yopp                                      Tift County                                    2021 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest

2021                            Cleve Jackson                                   Floyd County                                 2022 AFBF Sweet 16/3rd round of contest