GFB News Magazine

GFB Women's Leadership Committee Chairmen

Posted on April 4, 2022 12:00 AM



Chairmen served as an ex-officio member of GFB Board of Directors from December of the first year listed through December of the second. Vice Chairmen were members of the GFB Board of Directors from 1961-1975. Unless noted the women listed were committee chairmen.


CHAIRMAN                           MEMBERSHIP COUNTY                  TERM

Geraldine Ray                                       Coffee                                       1945-52

 Mrs. Troy Rucker                                  Cobb                                        1952-58

 Meredith Robinson                              Screven                                    1958-66


* Vice Chairmen were members of the GFB Board of Directors from 1961-1975

Mildred Dumas                                     Houston                                    1961-63

*Vice Chairman 1961-63

Chairman                                                                                                   1978-81


Irene Rape Cason                                  Henry                                         1963-70

*Vice Chairman 1963-66

Chairman 1966-70


Joyce Ambrose                                     Dooly                                           1966-67

*Vice Chairman


Marjorie Whitehead Kincaid                  Oconee                                       1967-76

*Vice Chairman 1967-70

Chairman 1970-76


Ruth Collins                                         Madison                                           1970-73

*Vice Chairman


Eloise McCurley, Jr.                              Madison                                         1973-78

*Vice Chairman 1973-1976      

Chairman 1976-78


Mildred Dumas                                     Houston                                        1978-81

Bertie Mae McDonald                         Washington                                    1981-86

Olivia Gillis                                             Ware                                               1986-89

Judy Hurst                                            Thomas                                           1989-91

Dot West                                              Bartow                                             1991-92

Peggy Smith                                         Turner                                               1992-93

June White                                           Laurens                                             1993-95

Shirley Tankersley                                Irwin                                                  1995-97

Doris Smith                                          Habersham                                       1997-1998

Corine Sellers                                       Jeff Davis                                          1998-2000

Peggy Smith                                         Turner                                                2000-2001

Lou Ellen Peek                                     Thomas                                             2001-2003

Jeannie Tucker                                      Berrien                                            2003-2005

Hazel Masters                                       Dougherty                                       2005-2006

Hazel Masters                                       Dougherty                                        2006-2007

Kim Brown                                           Macon                                                2007-2008

Kim Brown                                           Macon                                                 2008-2009

Cathy Barber                                        Bacon                                                  2009-2010

Donna Powell                                       Grady                                                   2010-2011

Linda Crumley                                      Barrow                                                 2011-2012

Nanette Bryan                                      Chattooga                                           2012-2103

Elaine Avery                                         Laurens                                                2013-2014

Janet Greuel                                          Fayette                                                2014-2015

Melanie Sanders                                   Oglethorpe                                         2015-2016

Rhonda Williams                                  Rabun                                                  2016-2017

Carol McQueen                                    Henry                                                  2017-2018

Nancy Kennedy                                    Hancock                                              2018-2019       

Heather Cabe                                        Franklin                                              2019-2020       

Heather Cabe                                        Franklin                                             2020-2021*     

*Served a second year due to COVID-19 pandemic in 2020

Melissa Mathis                                     Monroe                                                2021-2022