Ag News

McDaniel, Brevard GFB 2nd District Cattle Show top winners

by Katie Ault, Georgia Farm Bureau

Posted on Feb 09, 2023 at 0:00 AM

Georgia Farm Bureau’s 2nd District held its 13th Annual Young Farmer & Rancher Steer & Heifer Show Feb. 4 at the Jackson County Agricultural Facility. About 225 people turned out to watch 55 students compete in the event, which helps cattle exhibitors in the district continue developing their showmanship skills between the Georgia National Fair in October and the Georgia Junior National Livestock Show in February.

The district uses the show to introduce exhibitors to the GFB Young Farmer & Rancher program in hopes of encouraging students to participate in Young Farmer & Rancher activities upon turning 18. The GFB Federation Ambassadors were onsite to promote GFB memberships and District 2 YF&R members were volunteering at the show as a chance to interact with future members.

Morgan McDaniel of Jackson County and Hunter Brevard of Habersham County won the show’s top prizes. Brevard won Grand Champion Steer with his 1490-pound calf.

 McDaniel won Supreme Champion Heifer with her High Percentage Simmental heifer. This is the second consecutive year McDaniel won this award. Last year she went on to win Grand Champion Beef Heifer at the 2022 Georgia Jr. National Show with the heifer, Bertha, that she won the GFB Dist. 2 cattle show with. McDaniel won the GFB 2nd Dist. Show award and Ga. Jr. National Beef Heifer award in 2016 with a heifer, Diddo, that calved Bertha. Diddo also calved the heifer McDaniel won this year’s 2nd District show with. McDaniel has bred and raised both Bertha and Blossom, along with raising Diddo.

Keely Shultz of Jackson County won Reserve Champion Heifer. Ashlyn Floyd, Hart County, won third place overall. Emma-Grace Wright, Habersham County, won fourth overall. Audrey Brown, Madison County, won fifth place overall.

Baylor Whitfield from Stephens County earned the Reserve Champion Steer. Jake Parham of Franklin County won third place overall. Jackson Medders, Jackson County, was fourth place overall. Baylee Bohannon of Stephens County won fifth place.

Prize money for the show was funded by donations from 2nd District county Farm Bureaus, county presidents and insurance agents. The banners given as prizes to exhibitors were donated by Custom Livestock Solutions. Additionally, prizes for a membership drawing were donated by Hopewell Farms and White County Farmer’s Exchange. Numerous businesses and county Farm Bureaus donated items for a silent auction. All proceeds from the silent auction and concessions stand, which was run by District 2 office managers and volunteers, will go back into show funds for next year’s show.

While students were exhibiting, there was also a kid’s program being run by county office managers. Kids eighth grade and below were educated & entertained through a variety of beef-themed activities and had the chance to submit entries for the District 2 Coloring Contest & Poster Contest as well as the state-wide bookmark contest.

Morgan McDaniel and Jesse Cronic, both from Jackson County each won a $500 scholarship given by the show committee. Jesse Cronic won the 12th Grade Showmanship Award and a $250 prize. Other showmanship winners were: 11th Grade – Keely Shultz, Jackson County; 10th Grade – Audrey Brown, Madison County; 9th Grade – Lauren Dowdy, Hall County; 8th Grade Maggie Moon, Madison County; 7th Grade – Marley McConnell, Habersham County; 6th Grade – Riley Moon, Madison County; 5th Grade – Wade Dalton, Banks County; 4th Grade – Beau Knight, Madison County.

In breed heifer classes, winners were: Percent Simmental Champion & Reserve Champion: Morgan McDaniel; Angus Champion: Ashlyn Floyd; Angus Reserve Champion: Jesse Cronic; Chianina Champion: Audrey Brown; Chianina Reserve Champion: Lauren Dowdy; Hereford Champion: Beau Knight; Hereford Reserve Champion: Kaylee Brown, Madison County;  Maine Champion: Ashlyn Floyd, Maine Reserve Champion: Audrey Brown; Shorthorn Champion: Lakyn Seagraves, Jackson County; Shorthorn Reserve Champion: Chloe Boling, Banks County; Simmental Champion: Emma-Grace Wright; Simmental Reserve Champion: Luke Bryson, Habersham County; Other Breeds Champion: Keely Shultz; Other Breeds Reserve Champion: Maggie Moon; Commercial Heifer Champion: Emily Gattis, Habersham County; Commercial Heifer Reserve Champion: Jesse Cronic.


  • Categories:
  • Tags: