Ag News

Georgia Farm Bureau appoints 2020 commodity committees

by Georgia Farm Bureau

Posted on Jan 22, 2020 at 0:00 AM

Georgia Farm Bureau (GFB) has appointed the members of its commodity advisory committees for 2020. The committees provide guidance to GFB on topics relating to their commodities, including crop-specific government regulations, production practices and promotional approaches.

GFB has 20 commodity advisory committees. The committee chairmen for 2020 are: Aquaculture – Terry Bramlett, Fannin County; Beef Cattle – Chuck Joiner, Carroll County; Cotton – Eddie Green, Dooly County; Dairy – Joel Keith, Troup County; Direct Marketing/Agritourism – Jim Steed, Columbia County; Environmental Horticulture – Mark Porter, Fayette County; Equine – Gary Walker, Tift County; Feedgrain/Soybean – Jesse Patrick, Putnam County; Forestry – John Mixon, Pike County; Fruit – Bob McLeod, Wilcox County; Goats and Sheep – Will Cabe, Franklin County; Hay – Tom Hamby, Fannin County; Honeybees – Ben Bruce, Clinch County; Peanuts – John Harrell, Grady County; Pecans – Garrett Ganas, Ware County; Poultry – Steven Green, Spalding County; Swine – Terry Danforth, Berrien County; Tobacco – Paul Folsom, Lanier County; Vegetables – Mitchell Pittman, Toombs County; Water – Lee Webster, Burke County.

Eight GFB members have also been appointed to American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) Issue Advisory Committees (IACs). The IACs provide guidance to AFBF on topics of interest to broad segments of agriculture.

The Georgia appointees are: Agricultural Labor - Tim McMillan,  Berrien County; Animal Care – Paul Johnson, Decatur County; Budget and Economy – Terry Bramlett, Fannin County; Energy – Jake Carter, Henry County; Environmental Regulations – Casey Cox, Mitchell County; Food Safety – Bob McLeod, Wilcox County; Market Structures – Andy Bell, Decatur County; Organic and Direct Marketing – Garrett Ganas, Ware County; Pests & Invasive Species – Eddie Green, Dooly County; Technology – Wesley Porter, Tift County and Water – Mark Masters, Dougherty County.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: