Ag News

FEMA designates six Georgia counties as contiguous disaster areas

by Compiled by Georgia Farm Bureau

Posted on Jun 21, 2023 at 0:00 AM

On May 18, President Joe Biden issued a disaster declaration triggered by severe storms, straight-line winds and tornadoes in numerous Tennessee counties during March 24-27.

Producers in six Georgia counties are eligible for federal disaster assistance because they are contiguous to Tennessee counties covered by the disaster declaration. Affected Georgia counties are Catoosa, Dade, Fannin, Murray, Walker and Whitfield.

Under the declaration, the USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) is authorized to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Producers in affected counties have until Jan. 17, 2024, to apply for emergency assistance under this declaration.

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations.  To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit


  • Categories:
  • Tags: