Ag News

Brim, Thompson appointed to Georgia FSA State Committee


Posted on Jun 15, 2022 at 0:00 AM

On June 2, The USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced appointees Bill Brim of Tift County and Reese J. Thompson of Toombs County, who will serve on the Georgia USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) state committee.

Members of the FSA state committee are appointed by Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and are responsible for the oversight of farm programs and county committee operations, resolving program delivery appeals from the agriculture community, maintaining cooperative relations with industry stakeholders, keeping producers informed about FSA programs and operating in a manner consistent with USDA equal opportunity and civil rights policies.

Each FSA state committee is comprised of three to five members including a designated chairperson. The state committee chairperson will be named when all committee members have been appointed.

The Farm Service Agency is responsible for delivery of federal agricultural programs. The Agency offers producers a strong safety net through the administration of farm commodity and disaster programs.

  • Categories:
  • Tags: