Ag News

USDA has $150 million to help rural communities hit by disasters

On Sept. 10, the USDA Rural Housing Service Administrator Bruce Lammers announced the availability of $150 million in grants available through the Community Facilities Program to help rural communities continue their recovery from the devastating effects of hurricanes; fires and other natural disasters.

The $150 million is included in the Additional Supplemental Appropriations for Disaster Relief Act that President Trump signed into law on June 6. The grants may be used for relief in areas affected by Hurricanes Michael and Florence; wildfires in 2018; and other natural disasters where the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has provided a notice declaring a Major Disaster Declaration and assigned a FEMA disaster recovery (DR) number.

Grant applications will be accepted at USDA state offices on a continual basis until funds are exhausted. Grant assistance will be provided on a graduated scale; smaller communities with the lowest median household income are eligible for a higher proportion of grant funds. For application details or information visit

Eligible Georgia counties are: Appling; Atkinson; Bacon; Baker; Ben Hill; Berrien; Bleckley; Brooks; Bulloch; Burke; Calhoun; Candler; Chattahoochee; Clay; Coffee; Colquitt; Cook; Crawford; Crisp; Decatur; Dodge; Dooly; Dougherty; Early; Echols; Emanuel; Evans; Glascock; Grady; Hancock; Houston; Irwin; Jeff Davis; Jefferson; Jenkins; Johnson; Jones; Laurens; Lee; Macon; Marion; Miller; Mitchell; Montgomery; Peach; Pulaski; Putnam; Quitman; Randolph; Schley; Screven; Seminole; Stewart; Sumter; Tattnall; Telfair; Terrell; Thomas; Tift; Toombs; Treutlen; Turner; Twiggs; Washington; Webster; Wheeler; Wilcox; Wilkinson and Worth.

For more information and to apply for USDA Rural Development programs, contact your nearest Rural Development Service Center. The centers in Georgia are: Cartersville (678) 719-3508; Monroe (770) 267-1413, Ext. 4; Fort Valley (478) 827-0016, Ext. 4; Sandersville (478) 552-6073, Ext. 4; Tifton (229) 382-0273, Ext. 4 and Douglas (912) 384-4811. Ext. 4.