Ag News

Colquitt County Farm Bureau receives AFBF Foundation Grant

Colquitt County Farm Bureau (CCFB) is the recent recipient of a $750 grant from the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture. CCFB will award the money to Odom Elementary School (OES) to obtain a chicken brooder and coop to allow students to witness the complete life cycle of a chicken.

This will be a “hands on” project for the OES students under a new state pilot ag education program for elementary students. Students will incubate eggs and watch them hatch, then move them to the brooder until they are ready for the coop.  The goal is for the students to gain a better understanding of the relationship of agriculture and animals and that animals depend on humans for their welfare. The students will also learn about food safety and healthy living as they sell the eggs to school staff as a fundraiser for the afterschool ag club activities.

The AFB Foundation awarded nearly $9,000 in mini-grants to 10 communities across the nation through the White-Reinhardt Fund for Education program. The grants are used to create new agricultural literacy projects or expand existing efforts; the foundation strives to help learners of all ages understand agriculture and the important role it plays in their daily lives.

Criteria for selecting winners included: the effectiveness of demonstrating a strong connection between agriculture and education; how successfully the project enhances learner engagement in today’s food, fiber and fuel systems; and the processes and timelines for accomplishing project goals.

The White-Reinhardt Fund for Education is a project of the foundation in cooperation with the American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. The fund honors two former committee chairwomen, Berta White and Linda Reinhardt, who were trailblazers in early national efforts to expand the outreach of agricultural education and improve agricultural literacy.                        

Applications for another round of mini-grants will be accepted in the fall, with recipients announced in the spring. The application is available at