Ag News

Georgia Peanut Commission board members renominated

Three Georgia Peanut Commission (GPC) board members were renominated without opposition to the GPC board of directors at nomination meetings held Dec. 10, 2018. Georgia Farm Bureau conducted the nomination meetings for the commission's districts two, four and five.

Armond Morris of Tift County was renominated to represent district two. Rodney Dawson of Pulaski County was renominated to represent district four and Donald Chase of Macon County, will represent district five. Each previously held the seat for his district and their terms expired Dec. 31, 2018. Since only one person was nominated for each district, no election is required and each automatically becomes a member of the GPC Board for another three-year term.

The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location, with one board member representing each district. Additional board members include Joe Boddiford of Screven County, representing district three, and Tim Burch of Baker County, representing district one.

The GPC represents more than 4,500 peanut farm families in the state and conducts programs in the areas of research, promotion and education. For more information on the programs of the Georgia Peanut Commission, visit