Ag News

GFB appoints 2019 commodity committees

Georgia Farm Bureau (GFB) has appointed the members of its commodity advisory committees for 2019. The committees provide guidance to GFB on topics relating to their commodities, including crop-specific government regulations, production practices and promotional approaches.

GFB has 20 commodity advisory committees. The committee chairmen for 2019 are: Aquaculture – Terry Bramlett, Fannin County; Beef Cattle – Jerry McKinnon (Coffee County); Cotton – Eddie Green, Dooly County; Dairy – Joel Keith, Troup County; Direct Marketing/Agritourism – Jim Steed, Columbia County; Environmental Horticulture – Mark Porter, Fayette County; Equine – Gary Walker, Tift County; Feedgrain/Soybean – Jesse Patrick, Putnam County; Forestry – John Mixon, Pike County; Fruit – Bob McLeod, Wilcox County; Goats and Sheep – Will Cabe, Franklin County; Hay – Tom Hamby, Fannin County; Honeybees – B.J. Weeks, Cherokee County; Peanuts – John Harrell, Grady County; Pecans – Garrett Ganas, Ware County; Poultry – Jackie Copelan, Greene County; Swine – Terry Danforth, Berrien County; Tobacco – Paul Folsom, Lanier County; Vegetables – Mitchell Pittman, Toombs County; Water – Bubba Johnson, Mitchell County.

Eight GFB members have also been appointed to American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) Issue Advisory Committees (IACs). The IACs provide guidance to AFBF on topics of interest to broad segments of agriculture.

The Georgia appointees are: Agricultural Labor - Tim McMillan,  Berrien County; Animal Care – Paul Johnson, Decatur County; Budget and Economy – Terry Bramlett, Fannin County; Environmental Regulations – Casey Cox, Mitchell County; Food Safety – Bob McLeod, Wilcox County; Market Structures – Andy Bell, Decatur County; Water – Mark Masters, Dougherty County; Energy – Leighton Cooley, Crawford County; Federal Lands – John Mixon, Pike County; Pests & Invasive Species – Eddie Green, Dooly County.