Ag News

GFB appoints 2018 commodity committees

Georgia Farm Bureau (GFB) has appointed the members of its commodity advisory committees for 2018. The committees provide guidance to GFB on topics relating to their commodity, including crop-specific government regulation, production practices and promotional approaches.

GFB has 20 commodity advisory committees. The committee chairmen for 2018 are: Aquaculture – Terry Bramlett, Fannin County; Beef Cattle – Jerry McKinnon (Coffee County); Cotton – Eddie Green, Dooly County; Dairy – Kenneth Murphy, Meriwether County; Direct Marketing/Agritourism – Andy Futch, Gilmer County; Environmental Horticulture – Mark Porter, Fayette County; Equine – Gary Walker, Tift County; Feedgrain/Soybean – Jesse Patrick, Putnam County; Forestry – John Mixon, Pike County; Fruit – Tim McMillan, Berrien County; Goats and Sheep – Will Cabe, Franklin County; Hay – Wymann Hartley, Houston County; Honeybees – B.J. Weeks, Cherokee County; Peanuts – John Harrell, Grady County; Pecans – Garrett Ganas, Ware County; Poultry – Russ Moon, Madison County; Swine – Terry Danforth, Berrien County; Tobacco – Jerry Wooten, Jeff Davis; Vegetables – Mitchell Pittman, Toombs County; Water – Bubba Johnson, Mitchell County.

Eight GFB members have also been appointed to American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) Issue Advisory Committees (IACs). The IACs provide guidance to AFBF on topics of interest to broad segments of agriculture.

The Georgia appointees are: Animal Care – Paul Johnson, Decatur County; Budget and Economy – Terry Bramlett, Fannin County; Food Safety – Bob McLeod, Wilcox County; Technology – Chris Hopkins, Toombs County; Water – Mark Masters, Dougherty County; Energy – Leighton Cooley, Crawford County; Federal Lands – John Mixon, Pike County; Pests & Invasive Species – Eddie Green, Dooly County.