Ag News

Andy Bell, Donald Chase appointed to National Peanut Board

 Decatur County Farm Bureau Director Andy Bell was appointed to the National Peanut Board and Macon County Farm Bureau Director Donald Chase was named as an alternate in appointments announced by the USDA on July 12.

The appointees will serve three-year terms, from Jan. 1, 2019, to Dec. 31, 2021.

The board is composed of 12 producer members and their alternates. Eleven members and alternates are from the primary peanut producing states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia. An at-large member and alternate represent the minor peanut producing states.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

More information about the National Peanut Board, including a roster of members, is available on the National Peanut Board at