Ag News

House names farm bill conference committee members

Three members of Georgia’s delegation in the U.S. House of Representatives have been named to the farm bill conference committee. Reps Austin Scott (R-8th District) and David Scott (D-13th District) were appointed to represent the House Agriculture Committee, as was Rep. Rick Allen (R-12th District), who was named to represent the House Committee on Education and Workforce.

House Speaker Paul Ryan named 47 members to the committee, which will work with appointees from the U.S. Senate to reconcile differences between farm bills passed in the two chambers.

At press time, the Senate had not announced its conference committee members. Sen. David Perdue (R-Georgia) has expressed a desire to serve on the conference committee.

The House passed its farm bill on June 21 by a  215-213 vote. The Senate passed its version on June 28 by an 86-11 vote.

The 2014 farm bill, under which federal government farm programs are currently administered, expires Sept. 30.