Ag News

USDA announces Pork Board appointments

On Nov. 30, Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the appointment of five members to serve on the National Pork Board. The producers appointed to serve three year terms are: Brett Kaysen, Nunn, Colo.; Steven R. Rommereim, Alcester, S.D.; Scott Phillips, Drexel, Mo.; Heather Hill, Greenfield, Ind.; Deb Balance, Fremont, N.C.

The National Pork Board is composed of 15 pork producers, who are nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body, which is made up of approximately 160 producer and importer members. Glen Walters of Lamar County is the only member of the board from Georgia.

The program was created and is administered under the authority of the Pork Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act of 1985.