Ag News

Monsanto taking entries for charity program

Farmers in the counties below have until 6 p.m. Nov. 1 to register a charity of their choice in their county to win $2,500 in the America's Farmers Grow Communities program.

Eligible counties are: Appling, Baker, Berrien, Bleckley, Brooks, Bulloch, Burke, Calhoun, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Crisp, Decatur, Dooly, Early, Grady, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Lee, Macon, Miller, Mitchell, Randolph, Screven, Seminole, Sumter, Tattnall, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Wilcox and Worth. There were at least 30,000 acres of corn, soybeans, cotton and/or vegetables planted in these counties in 2016.

Suggested charities include local 4-H or FFA programs, fire departments, hospitals, libraries or schools. Charities must have IRS 501(c) (3) tax-exempt status or be a unit of government under Section 170 (c) (1). The program is open to farmers, age 21 and older in eligible counties, actively farming a minimum of 250 acres. No purchase needed to win.

Additionally, farmers 21 years & older who grow at least 250 acres of cropland but don't live in one of the eligible counties may enter the contest. Five entries from this pool of entrants will be selected to register their charity of choice.

Visit or call 877-267-3332 to apply.