Your Account/Pay Your Bill


November 20, 2014





Don McGough, (800) 342-1196,



Commission to fill posts in Districts One and Three


MACON, Ga. – Nomination meetings to fill two positions on the Georgia Peanut Commission Board of Directors will be held Dec. 15 at 11 a.m. in Swainsboro and Dec. 16 at 10 a.m. in Colquitt. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation will conduct the meetings to fill terms, which expire Dec. 31, in the Commission’s Districts One and Three.

“Georgia Farm Bureau encourages peanut farmers in these two districts of the Georgia Peanut Commission to attend the meeting in their district and participate in making nominations for these Commission positions,” Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall said. “The peanut commission plays an important role in promoting Georgia peanuts, crop research and education.”

The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Each nominee must produce peanuts and live within the district for which he is nominated.

The District One nomination meeting will be held at the Miller County Extension office in Colquitt on Dec. 16 at 10 a.m. Tim Burch of Baker County is the incumbent in this district. Counties in District One include: Baker, Calhoun, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell and Seminole.

The District Three nomination meeting will be held at the Emanuel County Farm Bureau office in Swainsboro on Dec. 15 at 11 a.m. Joe Boddiford of Screven County is the incumbent in this district. Counties in District Three include: Appling, Bacon, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Washington and Wayne.

Any producer living in the district may be nominated or make nominations at the meeting. Incumbents are eligible for renomination. If more than one person is nominated, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Commission by-laws state that a person must receive a majority of the votes cast for a position in order to be elected to the commission board.

If only one person qualifies for the position, no election is required, and the nominated person automatically becomes a member of the commission board. Commission members serve terms of three years. If multiple people are nominated for a GPC seat then the current director will continue to serve until the election is completed.

Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau is the state’s largest general farm organization.