Your Account/Pay Your Bill


December 6, 2011




Jennifer Whittaker -




MACON, Ga. – Georgia Farm Bureau voting delegates elected the organizations’s 2012 board of directors during the 2011 GFB convention held on Jekyll Island Dec. 4-6. GFB President Zippy Duvall of Greene County continues his third, two-year term.


Bernard Sims of Catoosa County, who ran unopposed, was re-elected as GFB North Georgia vice president. Voting delegates re-designated Gerald Long of Decatur County as the organization’s 1st vice president as Long begins serving the second year of his second, three-year term as South Georgia vice president. Robert Fountain Jr. of Emanuel County begins the third year of his three-year term as GFB Middle Georgia vice president.


In district director elections, Wesley Hall of Forsyth County was elected as a GFB 1st District director, filling the seat left open by the death of Louis Hunt in May. Gary Bell of Evans County was elected as a GFB 7th District director, filling the seat previously occupied by Gennis Folsom, who chose not to seek re-election after 19 years on the board. Kim Brown of Macon County was elected unopposed as GFB 8th District director after Phil Redding announced Nov. 7 he would not seek re-election after 26 years on the board. Each of these new directors were elected for a two-year term.


The following were re-elected unopposed to serve two-year terms on the Georgia Farm Bureau Board of Directors: Bobby Gunter of Lumpkin County, 2nd District; George Chambers of Carroll County, 3rd District; Marvin Ruark of Morgan County, 4th District; Ralph Adamson of Lamar County, 5th District; James Malone of Laurens County, 6th District; Paul Shirah of Mitchell County, 9th District and David Lee of Bacon County, 10th District.


GFB board members beginning the second year of the two-year term they were elected to in 2010 are: Henry J. West of Gordon County, 1st District; Randy Ruff of Elbert County, 2nd District; Nora Goodman of Paulding County, 3rd District; William Hutchins of Barrow County, 4th District; Jim Ham of Monroe County, 5th District; James Emory Tate of Jeff Davis County, 6th District; Ben Boyd of Screven County, 7th District; Don Wood of Wilcox County, 8th District; Lucius Adkins, Jr., of Baker County, 9th District and Daniel Johnson, of Pierce County, 10th District.


Jake Carter of Henry County was named chairman of the Georgia Farm Bureau Young Farmer Committee. Linda Crumley of Barrow County was named chairman of the Georgia Farm Bureau Women’s Committee. Both will serve a one-year term as committee chairmen and will sit on the Georgia Farm Bureau Board of Directors.


Founded in 1937, Georgia Farm Bureau is the state’s largest general farm organization. The organization has 158 county offices. Its volunteer members actively participate in local, district and state activities that promote agriculture awareness to their non-farming neighbors. GFB also has 20 commodity advisory committees that give the organization input on issues pertinent to the major commodities grown in Georgia.