Your Account/Pay Your Bill


Regional Water Councils



Timely access to water is an absolute necessity for survival of agriculture in Georgia. The ability to access irrigation water can often mean the difference in a positive or negative bottom line. As the state's population continues to grow the demand for water resources have continued to increase. Recognizing the importance of a future water strategy the Georgia General Assembly passed "The Water Planning Act of 2004".


The Water Planning Act authorized the Environmental Protection Division and the Department of Natural Resources to draw up a water management plan for consideration by the Georgia Water Council.  Upon approval by the Water Council, the plan was offered to the General Assembly for ratification and the Governor’s signature in February 2008.


The Comprehensive Statewide Water Management plan allowed the appointment of stakeholders to serve on the 10 Regional Water Councils. Each Regional Water Council consists of 25 members and three alternates.  The appointments were made by Governor Sonny Perdue, Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle, and Speaker of the House Glenn Richardson.


The Regional Water Councils have an important purpose which is spelled out in the State Water Management Plan: 


“For each water planning region, a water planning council will be designated to oversee preparation of a regional water development and conservation plan.”



Click here for more information on the Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan.



For Information on the Regional Water Councils click the links below:



Coastal Georgia

Coosa-North Georgia

Lower Flint- Ochlockonee

Middle Chattahoochee

Middle Ocmulgee

Savannah- Upper Ogeechee

Suwannee- Satilla