Your Account/Pay Your Bill


Return to GFB News Bookmark and Share

Georgia counties receive disaster declarations due to March freeze


By: USDA press release
7/12/2017 11:43:51 AM


On June 30 the USDA issued disaster declarations for Burke and Wilcox counties to help farmers mitigate their losses caused by a freeze that occurred from March 15-18.

The following counties qualify for USDA disaster assistance programs because they are contiguous to a primary county designation: Ben Hill, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Emanuel, Jefferson, Jenkins, Pulaski, Richmond, Screven, Telfair and Turner.

Farmers in counties named either primary disaster areas or contiguous counties are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include Operating and Farm Ownership Loans, the Emergency Conservation Program, the Livestock Forage Disaster Program, the Livestock Indemnity Program, the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for more information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at


For more on this story: