Your Account/Pay Your Bill


Return to GFB News Bookmark and Share

Georgia counties receive drought disaster declaration


By: USDA press release
6/28/2017 1:32:22 PM


On June 14 the USDA issued a disaster declaration for a total of 13 Georgia counties to help farmers mitigate their losses due to ongoing drought conditions.

Baker, Decatur, Grady, Mitchell and Thomas counties received a primary disaster declaration. Brooks, Calhoun, Colquitt, Dougherty, Early, Miller, Seminole and Worth counties were named contiguous counties.

Farmers in counties named either primary disaster areas or contiguous counties are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Other FSA programs that provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include the Emergency Conservation Program, the Livestock Forage Disaster Program, the Livestock Indemnity Program, the Emergency Assistance for Livestock Program, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for more information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at


For more on this story: